The Undertones | Zoom 79-03

A selection of the best tracks
The Undertones | #theundertones |
(Feargal Sharkey, John O’Neill, Michael Bradley, Billy Doherty, Vincent O’Neill, Damian O’Neill, Paul McLoone)
[1975-…], Derry, Londonderry, United Kingdom |
Wiki#084 |

The Undertones are a punk rock/new wave band formed in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1975.

From 1975 to 1983, the Undertones consisted of Feargal Sharkey (vocals), John O’Neill (rhythm guitar, vocals), Damian O’Neill (lead guitar, vocals), Michael Bradley (bass, vocals) and Billy Doherty (drums).

Although much of the earlier Undertones material drew influence from punk rock and new wave, the Undertones also incorporated elements of rock, glam rock and post-punk into material released after 1979, before citing soul and Motown as the influence for the material released upon their final album.

The Undertones released thirteen singles and four studio albums between 1978 and 1983 before Sharkey announced his intention to leave the band in May 1983,citing musical differences as the reason for the break up.

Despite the political climate in which the band had lived, the vast majority (though not all) of the material the band released focused not upon the Troubles, but upon issues such as adolescence, teenage angst and heartbreak. The merging of instruments has led AllMusic to state that guitarists John and Damian O’Neill “mated infectious guitar hooks to 1960s garage, 1970s glam rock, and Feargal Sharkey‘s signature vocal quaver.”

Following the disbandment of the Undertones in 1983, Feargal Sharkey was invited by Vince Clarke and Eric Radcliffe of the synthpop duet The Assembly to provide lead vocals on the single « Never, Never » which was released by The Assembly in November 1983 and peaked at number 4 in the UK charts. Sharkey, however, was never officially a member of The Assembly and his vocal contribution to « Never, Never » proved to be Sharkey‘s only recording with The Assembly.

Sharkey subsequently embarked upon a brief, but commercially successful solo career in the mid- to late-1980s.

Two of the other band members, John O’Neill and Damian O’Neill, formed That Petrol Emotion in 1984. That Petrol Emotion proved to be a highly regarded, pioneering rock act which released a total of fifteen singles and six albums between 1985 and 1994.

In 1999, the Undertones reformed, replacing lead singer Feargal Sharkey with Paul McLoone.

The Undertones remain the most successful band to have emerged from Derry, and one of the most successful bands to have emerged from Northern Ireland.

Good session! Enjoy!

17 – The Undertones – Thrill Me – 2003
15 – The Undertones – Chain of Love – 1983
14 – The Undertones – Got to Have You Back – 1983
13 – The Undertones – The Love Parade – 1982
10 – The Undertones – It’s Going to Happen – 1981
8 – The Undertones – Wednesday Week – 1980
7 – The Undertones – My Perfect Cousin – 1980
6 – The Undertones – There Goes Norman – 1980
5 – The Undertones – You’ve Got My Number (Why Don’t You Use It!) – 1979
4 – The Undertones – Here Comes the Summer – 1979
3 – The Undertones – Jimmy Jimmy – 1979
1 – The Undertones – Teenage Kicks – 1979
Available on
Video Mode
More Tracks?
The complete collection of the available tracks is only accessible on request.

Missing track ? Adding a title ? Send your request. Service only accessible to the site registered users. | |

Embedded Players